thumbnail text



Oceania Briefing

— Global


National identity in Australia, Tonga and Fiji's territorial dispute and rugby World Cup headache in New Zealand.

Identity Territory Rugby Australia Tonga Fiji New Zealand

Flagging design


A coalition including more than a dozen Australians of the Year wants to dump the national flag, with its British-heritage Union flag in one corner (the rest of the flag features stars on a blue background). The bid is also adding fuel to a bigger debate: should Australia abandon the British monarchy? Opponents of the flag – mocked as “Britain by Night” by the American comedian Jerry Seinfeld – say it is an embarrassing relic of the colonial era at home and confusing overseas. “It’s time Australia grew…


0:00:00 0:01:00

Drag me