thumbnail text

1- Office

Here’s our utilitarian take on gearing up for a more productive new year with a few oft-overlooked pieces for a better desk: from ribbons and rubber bands to pencils and paperclips.

  1. One-handed tape dispenser, ashleydistributors.com
  2. Formwork desk storage by Herman Miller, hermanmiller.com
  3. Tools to Liveby paperclips, presentandcorrect.com
  4. Brass number clips by Midori, midori-japan.co.jp; trunkclothiers.com
  5. Danese Milano flip calendar, danesemilano.com; archivando.jp
  6. Yamato paper glue, yamato.co.jp
  7. Gummed foil gold stars from Dennison, presentandcorrect.com
  8. Wooden stationery organiser by Umbra Studio, umbra.com; presentandcorrect.com 09.Sina Optic 8x and 4x magnifier loupe, magnifier.co.kr
  9. Olfa hook cutter, olfa.com
  10. Olfa top-sheet paper cutter, olfa.com
  11. Gift ribbon from Hay, hay.dk 13.Coloured bulldog clips from Modulor, modulor.de
  12. Tombow Irojiten colouring pencils, tombow.com; trunkclothiers.com
  13. Sterling multiplier pencil box (and sharpener), presentandcorrect.com
  14. Muji elastic-band ball, muji.com
  15. Shachihata inkpad, shachihata.co.jp

2- Garden

This selection of well-made additions will keep gardens blooming – whether it’s wellies to keep on a firm footing or a watering can and trowel to tend to flower beds.

01.Barbecue tongs from Snow Peak, snowpeak.com 02. Vasse Vaught Vogeli bird bath, vassevaught.com; thegardenedit.com 03. Indoor watering can from Born in Sweden, borninsweden.se 04. Hunter Original Chelsea boot Wellingtons, hunterboots.com 05. Gardena secateurs, gardena.com 06. Sneeboer weeding trowel, sneeboer.com; labourandwait.co.uk 07. Koppel hygrometer by Georg Jensen, georgjensen.com; skandium.com 08. Haws watering can, haws.co.uk; thegardenedit.com 09. Red-and-white twine, whiskergraphics.com 10. Works & Labo Kawara ceramic planting markers,worksandlabo.com 11. Flower pot brush from Present and Correct, presentandcorrect.com 12. Ernest Wright & Son pruning scissors, ernestwright.co.uk 13. Opinel folding knife, opinel.com; labourandwait.co.uk

3- Pantry

We’ve sourced some enticing comestibles for any occasion – whether it’s a case of celebrating with saké or stocking up on appetisers, no pantry should be without these stalwarts.

  1. Bottle of Matsunami saké, o-eyama.com
  2. Macallan 1874 highland malt Scotch whisky, themacallan.com; hewines.com
  3. Tamari soy sauce from Kikkoman, kikkoman.com
  4. Panettone from Chiostro di Saronno, chiostrodisaronno.it
  5. Tunnock’s chocolate-covered wafer biscuits, tunnock.co.uk
  6. Isole e Olena Cepparello 2010, thelondonwinecellar.com
  7. German mustard from Streuber, streubersenf.de
  8. A1 steak sauce, a1original.com
  9. Panko breadcrumbs from Hanayuki, selfridges.com
  10. Crosta & Mollica breadsticks, cmkitchen.net
  11. Green pepper Tabasco sauce from McIlhenny Co, tabasco.com
  12. Bella olives from Puglia by Seggiano, seggiano.com
  13. Schweppes tonic water, schweppes.com
  14. Rye crisp breads from Finn Crisp, finncrisp.com
  15. Tuna in olive oil from Conservas Ortiz, conservasortiz.com
  16. Anchovies with capers from Conservas Ortiz, conservasortiz.com

4- Home

These ingredients are elegant additions to any household and will cosy-up the home, including a chirpy light for the kids’ room, a versatile throw and snug slippers.

  1. Rimini Blu ceramic vase from Bitossi, bitossihome.it; scp.co.uk
  2. Shorebird figure from Normann Copenhagen, normann-copenhagen.com
  3. Oak magazine rack with marble top from Kristina Dam Studio, kristinadam.dk
  4. Go Out Living Gear Book magazine supplement, goout.jp
  5. Brass vase from Found Muji, muji.net/foundmuji
  6. Heima candlestick holder from Normann Copenhagen, scp.co.uk
  7. Pigeon light by Ed Carpenter, klauserandcarpenter.com; scp.co.uk
  8. Flos glo-ball mini, flos.it; jaspermorrison.com
  9. Woollen blanket from Eleanor Pritchard for Trunk Clothiers, eleanorpritchard.com; trunkclothiers.com
  10. Rattan carpet beater from Objects of Use, objectsofuse.com
  11. 100 Years of Swiss Graphic Design from Lars Müller Publishers, lars-mueller-publishers.com
  12. Ceramic incense burner from Shoyeido Miyuki, shoyeido.co.jp; trunkclothiers.com
  13. Marble vase from Broste Copenhagen, brostecopenhagen.com; goodhoodstore.com
  14. Gingham slippers from Muji, muji.com
  15. Comptoir de Famille furniture polish, comptoir-de-famille.com; divertimenti.co.uk
  16. Terracotta platter by Reiko Kaneko, reikokaneko.co.uk; scp.co.uk
  17. Reiko Kaneko x Shotoku glasses, reikokaneko.co.uk
  18. Shotoku glass set, stglass.co.jp; scp.co.uk
  19. Wooden Bridget building game, etgames.co.uk; scp.co.uk

5- Tools

From a double-edged Japanese saw for woodworking to a cycle-repair kit and clamp, these are the strapping tools we’re keeping to hand.

01.Simson bike repair kit, labourandwait.co.uk 02. Abloy padlock, abloy.com 03. BlueSpot one-and-a-quarter-inch inspection mirror, bluespot.uk.com 04. Rosewood-and-brass mini carpenter’s plane by Crown Tools, crownhandtools.ltd.uk; pentonshardware.co.uk 05. New Gramercy Tools cabinetmaker’s hammer, toolsforworkingwood.com 06. Double-edged Japanese handsaw, life-diy.com 07. Three-inch steel clamp by Faithfull, faithfulltools.com 08. Matsunoya carpenter’s tool box, matsunoya.jp 09. Arctic Polar insulated work gloves, greenjem.co.uk 10. Fisco Sweden folding ruler, hultafors.fi; pentonshardware.co.uk 11. Vitra tool box, vitra.com; goodhoodstore.com 12. Stainless-steel pocket survival tool, bcbin.com; pentonshardware.co.uk 13. Ettinger x Maglite hand torch, ettinger.co.uk; happyboxlondon.com 14. Schneck Zweigbergk matches for Hay, hay.dk 15. Battery-power tester from Mercury, mercury.avsl.com; pentonshardware.co.uk 16. Vitrex corded earplugs, vitrex.co.uk

6- Kitchen

Cupboard space is always at a premium so only the culinary best will do when it comes to tin openers, cups, tablecloths and chopping boards.

  1. Mini all-purpose mincer from Guillouard à Nantes, guillouard.com; jglinert.com
  2. Woodpecker wooden chopping boards, hello-woodpecker.com
  3. Hakusan Kasanejima teapot, hakusan-porcelain.co.jp
  4. Ceramic bowl and cup from Les Guimard, lesguimards.com
  5. Stovetop Belgian waffle maker from Nordicware, nordicware.com; divertimenti.co.uk
  6. Mini blini pan from Debuyer, debuyer.fr; divertimenti.co.uk
  7. Table cloth and coasters from Fog Linen, foglinenwork.com
  8. Bon Voyage collection of stacking plates with handles from Yumiko Iihoshi Porcelain, y-iihoshi-p.com
  9. Nogent 3-star Super-Kim tin opener, labourandwait.co.uk
  10. Silicone jam spreader from Muji, muji.com
  11. Hinoki rice spatula from Matsunoya, matsunoya.jp
  12. Good Food for Your Table by Ian James, Nicholas Selby and Louisa Chapman-Andrews, saltyardbooks.co.uk
  13. CDN meat or yeast thermometer, cdnw.com

Loading...

/

15

15

Live

00:0001:00

  • The Weekend Edition