Cover art for
C

Culture / Podcast

The Monocle Arts Review

Weekly cultural nourishment with Monocle 24’s international critics in the fields of art, music, theatre, literature, film and television. Enjoy conversations with the directors, artists, authors and musicians and minds behind it all.

RSS Feed
566

Latest episode

The grand finale:

In the last ever episode of the ‘Monocle Arts Review’, Robert Bound is joined by writer Lucy Jones and Toby Earle, TV editor for ‘The Evening Standard’ and London Live, to discuss some of the latest films and series to hit streaming services. Plus we meet multi-Grammy award-winning singer-songwriter Rickie Lee Jones.

Latest episodes

EpisodeDateDescriptionDownloadPlay
29 Jul 2018
1 min

Sunday Brunch’s new home: 

‘Sunday Brunch’ has moved. To continue getting your weekly cultural feast, search for the show on the Monocle website, or via your favourite podcast provider, and subscribe for free.

DownloadPlay
56623 Mar 2018
45 min

The grand finale: 

In the last ever episode of the ‘Monocle Arts Review’, Robert Bound is joined by writer Lucy Jones and Toby Earle, TV editor for ‘The Evening Standard’ and London Live, to discuss some of the latest films and series to hit streaming services. Plus we meet multi-Grammy award-winning singer-songwriter Rickie Lee Jones.

DownloadPlay
56516 Mar 2018
45 min

Films on-screen and art to be seen: 

Film critic Jason Solomons reviews this week’s film releases and Jane Morris, editor at large of the ‘Art Newspaper’, talks London art exhibitions with Monocle’s Ben Rylan. Plus: we meet artist Celia Hempton in Rome.

DownloadPlay
5649 Mar 2018
45 min

From the stage to the bookshelf: 

We get to grips with this week’s theatre openings in London with the critic Matt Wolf and leaf through some new book releases with John Mitchinson, publisher at Unbound. Plus: we visit an exhibition in Dublin that examines our relationship with authenticity and all things fake. Andrew Mueller presents.

DownloadPlay
5632 Mar 2018
45 min

Film: from the Berlinale to the Oscars: 

Film critics Tim Robey and Jason Solomons recap their highlights from this year’s Berlin Film Festival and predict what they think might happen at this weekend’s Oscars. Plus we review ‘A Fantastic Woman’ and ‘Red Sparrow’, and learn about the history of cross-dressing in a new exhibition in London.

DownloadPlay
56223 Feb 2018
45 min

Sight and sound: 

Journalists Alice Vincent and Laura Snapes join Robert Bound to discuss the albums, films and TV shows that have piqued their interest this week. Plus, we meet renowned author Dave Eggers.

DownloadPlay
56116 Feb 2018
45 min

Screen and stage: 

We review the week in cinema and London’s West End and chat with Daniel Spicer, author of a new book about Turkish psychedelic music.

DownloadPlay
5609 Feb 2018
42 min

Page-turners, podcasts and pop: 

Ted Hodgkinson, senior programmer for literature and spoken word at the Southbank Centre, and Fiona Sturges, critic for ‘The Guardian’, join Matt Alagiah to discuss what they’ve been reading and listening to. Plus we learn about the Italian music festival that inspired Eurovision.

DownloadPlay
5592 Feb 2018
45 min

Having a ball: 

We take a trip around Europe to discover some of the best exhibitions in Barcelona, Vienna and Milan this month with Ossian Ward, head of content at the Lisson gallery, and writer and curator Francesca Gavin. Plus: we don our gladrags and head to Austria for Vienna’s ball season.

DownloadPlay
55826 Jan 2018
45 min

Oscars fever: 

With the nominees for the 90th Academy Awards announced this week, Ben Rylan and film critics Anna Smith and Tim Robey discuss their hopes for this year’s prizes. Plus: we find out how to show your film at Sundance without being officially selected and discover a brand new Vincent Van Gogh drawing in the Netherlands.

DownloadPlay
55719 Jan 2018
42 min

Read all about it: 

We discuss some of the week’s book releases with literary journalist Sarah Shaffi and Unbound founder John Mitchinson, and nip to São Paulo to discover the kiosk-cum-independent bookshop that has transformed its neighbourhood.

DownloadPlay
55612 Jan 2018
45 min

Three billboards, two albums and a number one: 

Robert Bound talks film and music with film critic Karen Krizanovich and broadcaster Baylen Leonard. Plus: we discuss the merits of a short story and head to Kenya for the global countdown.

DownloadPlay
5555 Jan 2018
42 min

New year, new TV: 

Alice Vincent, arts and entertainment writer for ‘The Telegraph’ and Toby Earle, TV critic for ‘London Live’ and ‘The Evening Standard’, join Ben Rylan in the studio to discuss some of the UK shows hitting the small screen this month. Plus: podcast and radio critic Pete Naughton gives us his 2018 listening tips and we head to Latin America for this week’s Global Countdown.

DownloadPlay
55429 Dec 2017
45 min

2017 in books, music and film: 

Robert Bound is joined by broadcaster and DJ Georgie Rogers, publisher at Unbound John Mitchinson and film critic for ‘The Telegraph’ Tim Robey, who pick their 2017 highlights in music, literature and film.

DownloadPlay
55322 Dec 2017
40 min

Festive films: 

Film critics Jason Solomons and Anna Smith join Ben Rylan in the studio to discuss the films out this December and some of their festive favourites.

DownloadPlay

Loading...

/

15

15

Live

00:0001:00

  • The Menu362