Cover art for
C

Culture / Podcast

The Monocle Arts Review

Weekly cultural nourishment with Monocle 24’s international critics in the fields of art, music, theatre, literature, film and television. Enjoy conversations with the directors, artists, authors and musicians and minds behind it all.

RSS Feed
535

Latest episode

Podcasts, books and music: a different spin on hospital records:

In the studio we talk books and podcasts with John Mitchinson, co-founder of Unbound, and Fiona Sturges, arts columnist for ‘The Guardian’ and ‘The Financial Times’. Plus we head to Moscow to learn how Soviet music lovers managed to smuggle music into the USSR on old hospital X-rays and we dial up Edinburgh to find out how the fringe festival is going so far.

Latest episodes

EpisodeDateDescriptionDownloadPlay
20 Aug 2017

Sunday Brunch 2: California Designing: 

We head to the Design Museum to learn about its new exhibition California: Designing Freedom, explore Leonard Cohen’s life with Kieron Matthew Banerji and sample ice-cream sundaes in north London. All that before we go through a huge helping of broadsheets from around the world with Jonathan Fenby.​

DownloadPlay
53518 Aug 2017
45 min

Podcasts, books and music: a different spin on hospital records: 

In the studio we talk books and podcasts with John Mitchinson, co-founder of Unbound, and Fiona Sturges, arts columnist for ‘The Guardian’ and ‘The Financial Times’. Plus we head to Moscow to learn how Soviet music lovers managed to smuggle music into the USSR on old hospital X-rays and we dial up Edinburgh to find out how the fringe festival is going so far.

DownloadPlay
113 Aug 2017
57 min

Sunday Brunch 1: The Other Paradise: 

Find out about the otherworldly evening taking over the Royal Academy of Arts in London, hear some Pink Floyd courtesy of Carlota Rebelo and sample the delights of Dishoom. All that before we go through a huge helping of broadsheets from around the world with Marie Billon.​

DownloadPlay
53411 Aug 2017
35 min

From Westeros to the West End: 

This week we’re talking TV and books with Alice Vincent, arts and entertainment writer for ‘The Telegraph’, as well as writer and critic Mark Mason. The pair sit down with Monocle’s Matt Alagiah to discuss HBO’s latest shows and the non-fiction reads worth picking up this month. Plus: the new edition of ‘Somesuch Stories’, the journal that celebrates creative writing and interesting voices.

DownloadPlay
5334 Aug 2017
45 min

August on the silver screen: 

Tom Edwards is taken on a trip to the cinema by film critics Karen Krizanovich and Tim Robey as they discuss August’s movie releases, we learn about Maud Russell, a woman whose diary tells stories of high society during the Second World War and we meet Charlie Fink, the former frontman of indie-folk outfit Noah and the Whale, who has set his sights on the stage.

DownloadPlay
53228 Jul 2017
45 min

From screen to stage: 

Ben Rylan is joined in the studio by Toby Earle, TV editor for ‘London Live’, and Matt Wolf, theatre critic for ‘The New York Times International Edition’, to find out what’s on the small screen and the stage this week. Plus: we head to Amsterdam to discover the city’s only Arabic bookshop and we meet a duo who have set out to demystify contemporary art.

DownloadPlay
53121 Jul 2017
40 min

From your stereo to the rodeo: 

Robert Bound is joined by broadcaster and DJ Georgie Rogers and country music aficionado Baylen Leonard for this week’s music review, we head to Calgary for the annual Stampede festival and Fernando Augusto Pacheco is back with another countdown from somewhere around the globe.

DownloadPlay
53014 Jul 2017
45 min

Summer cinema and songs: 

Tom Edwards sits down with film critics Tim Robey and Jason Solomons to talk about this summer’s cinema releases. Plus: we head to Brazil for the Meca festival and find out the top five songs in Israel.

DownloadPlay
5297 Jul 2017
45 min

Middle Eastern rock music, 1980s female wrestling and life behind bars: 

Ben Rylan sits down with Alice Vincent, arts and entertainment writer for The Telegraph, and Hannah Verdier, writer and author of The Guardian’s Pod Complex column, to talk TV and podcasts. Plus we meet Orlando Crowcroft who’s just written a book about the challenges of performing rock music in the Middle East.

DownloadPlay
52830 Jun 2017
44 min

London’s art scene and the death of the rock star: 

We delve into the world of art with three new exhibitions in London and this year’s Art Basel. Christopher Lord is joined in the studio by head of content for the Lisson Gallery, Ossian Ward, and private art adviser and dealer, Kathlene Fox-Davies. Plus: we speak to music journalism legend David Hepworth about his new book ‘Uncommon People’.

DownloadPlay
52723 Jun 2017
45 min

June’s best books, Athens as an art destination and the RA’s freshest talent: 

Matt Alagiah is joined in the studio by author Cathy Rentzenbrink and Sarah Shaffi, online editor for ‘The Bookseller’, to review some of the best book releases from the past month. We head to Athens to see whether the latest influx of fairs and exhibitions has put the Greek capital on the art map and we nip over to the Royal Academy of Art for this year’s student show.

DownloadPlay
52616 Jun 2017
45 min

Tuneful June: 

From the latest album releases to new music docs via all-singing all-dancing Broadway for the Tony awards and the Brazilian charts, we get musical on this week’s Monocle Arts Review. Robert Bound is joined by chief rock and pop critic for ‘The Times’, Will Hodgkinson, and film critic Jason Solomons in the studio and we also chat to country music superstar, Steve Earle.

DownloadPlay
5259 Jun 2017
45 min

Top TV picks for June: 

Ben Rylan is joined in the studio by writer Lucy Jones and TV editor at London Live Toby Earle to discuss their highlights on Netflix and Amazon Prime this month. Plus we nip over to São Paulo for some Japanese culture and find out what’s at number one in Belgium in this week’s global countdown.

DownloadPlay
5242 Jun 2017
44 min

Cannes Film Festival 2017: 

Tom Edwards is joined in the studio by film critics Anna Smith and Tim Robey to wrap up this year’s Cannes Film Festival. Elsewhere on the show we find out about a new book, ‘The Poetry of Pop’, and chat to Turkish musicians Baba Zula about making music in an uneasy political climate.

DownloadPlay
52326 May 2017
44 min

Art: in bottles, on bumper cars and bringing midcentury New York to life: 

Matt Alagiah is joined in the studio by Matt Wolf, theatre critic for the ‘The New York Times International Edition’, and Nancy Durrant, commissioning editor for ‘The Times Arts’, to discuss the week in London theatre and art. Plus: we take a dodgem ride around an arts festival by the Thames and we take a whiff of some olfactory art.

DownloadPlay
Show more

Loading...

/

15

15

Live

00:0001:00

  • The Monocle Arts Review535