Cover art for
C

Culture / Podcast

The Monocle Arts Review

Weekly cultural nourishment with Monocle 24’s international critics in the fields of art, music, theatre, literature, film and television. Enjoy conversations with the directors, artists, authors and musicians and minds behind it all.

RSS Feed
566

Latest episode

The grand finale:

In the last ever episode of the ‘Monocle Arts Review’, Robert Bound is joined by writer Lucy Jones and Toby Earle, TV editor for ‘The Evening Standard’ and London Live, to discuss some of the latest films and series to hit streaming services. Plus we meet multi-Grammy award-winning singer-songwriter Rickie Lee Jones.

Latest episodes

EpisodeDateDescriptionDownloadPlay
22 Apr 2018
60 min

Sunday Brunch: Artistic anonymity: 

We speak to Steve Lazarides – a colleague of Banksy for more than a decade – who tells us how artists can reinvent a genre and remain hidden in the process. Plus: sound art with Tamar Harpaz, Claire Cock-Starkey’s library secrets and chef Prateek Sadhu.

DownloadPlay
15 Apr 2018

Sunday Brunch: The art of change: 

We look at whether art can encourage social change, explore why we immortalise musicians and speak with LA-based forward-thinking musician E Ruscha V about his album ‘Who Are You’. Plus: Jane Robinson on the women’s march of 1913, some Japanese grilling and Kevin Craig with the weekend papers.

DownloadPlay
8 Apr 2018

Sunday Brunch: Art of the heart and mind: 

Get under the skin of art as we look at artists’ personalities, get a glimpse into Picasso’s personal life and reflect on the heart through art. Plus: we preview EstLitFest and try some Indian cuisine.

DownloadPlay
1 Apr 2018
56 min

Sunday Brunch: Classic cinema, design and literature: 

We bust out the classics as we rediscover some icons of British cinema, learn how album art is designed with Rick Froberg and John Reis of Hot Snakes, and leaf through a transcript of ‘The Great Gatsby’. Meanwhile, we discover some of the world’s emerging artists and try some herbal concoctions. Plus: Marie Billon goes through the weekend papers.

DownloadPlay
25 Mar 2018

Sunday Brunch: ‘Another Kind of Life’: 

We meet some of the subcultures of the world and explore what’s vital to human life with the Wellcome Collection. Plus: Sarah Corbett tells us about craftivism, we chat about driverless cars and we discuss the resurgence of London’s late-night hospitality scene. Plus: Terry Stiastny on the papers.

DownloadPlay
56623 Mar 2018
45 min

The grand finale: 

In the last ever episode of the ‘Monocle Arts Review’, Robert Bound is joined by writer Lucy Jones and Toby Earle, TV editor for ‘The Evening Standard’ and London Live, to discuss some of the latest films and series to hit streaming services. Plus we meet multi-Grammy award-winning singer-songwriter Rickie Lee Jones.

DownloadPlay
18 Mar 2018

Sunday Brunch: Art in the digital age: 

We look at how technology has affected art, visit exhibition ‘The Classical Now’ and go on a no-screen reading retreat. Plus: Jonathan Ray brings the champagne, we have brunch with Salon’s owner and Juliette Foster reviews the weekend papers.

DownloadPlay
56516 Mar 2018
45 min

Films on-screen and art to be seen: 

Film critic Jason Solomons reviews this week’s film releases and Jane Morris, editor at large of the ‘Art Newspaper’, talks London art exhibitions with Monocle’s Ben Rylan. Plus: we meet artist Celia Hempton in Rome.

DownloadPlay
11 Mar 2018

Sunday Brunch: Trust in invisible agents: 

We find out how hidden technology is influencing our lives, check out the Museum of London’s ‘Votes for Women’ exhibition and Jen Campbell explores some modern fairy tales. Plus: we try Vicky’s Donuts and Rachel Cunliffe has the weekend papers.

DownloadPlay
5649 Mar 2018
45 min

From the stage to the bookshelf: 

We get to grips with this week’s theatre openings in London with the critic Matt Wolf and leaf through some new book releases with John Mitchinson, publisher at Unbound. Plus: we visit an exhibition in Dublin that examines our relationship with authenticity and all things fake. Andrew Mueller presents.

DownloadPlay
4 Mar 2018
47 min

Sunday Brunch: Invisible cities: 

We explore concepts of the ideal city with former Tate curator Flavia Frigeri. We visit a royal art collection. Damien Rudd tells us about the saddest place names in the world, and we try some Hong Kong brunch. Plus: Cornelia Meyer reads the weekend papers.

DownloadPlay
5632 Mar 2018
45 min

Film: from the Berlinale to the Oscars: 

Film critics Tim Robey and Jason Solomons recap their highlights from this year’s Berlin Film Festival and predict what they think might happen at this weekend’s Oscars. Plus we review ‘A Fantastic Woman’ and ‘Red Sparrow’, and learn about the history of cross-dressing in a new exhibition in London.

DownloadPlay
25 Feb 2018
48 min

Sunday Brunch: What can you see from your window?: 

We get tower-block residents’ visions for future London and head to the Tate Modern to see Modigliani. Meanwhile, Ian Williams gets lost in Beijing’s smog. Plus: handmade kitchen gifts and a look at the weekend’s papers with Kevin Craig.

DownloadPlay
56223 Feb 2018
45 min

Sight and sound: 

Journalists Alice Vincent and Laura Snapes join Robert Bound to discuss the albums, films and TV shows that have piqued their interest this week. Plus, we meet renowned author Dave Eggers.

DownloadPlay
18 Feb 2018
55 min

Sunday Brunch: ‘Another Time Another Place’: 

We head back to a London borough past and travel a mile in a migrant’s shoes. Also, Joobin Bekhrad offers an alternative view of Iran, we meet Rosabella Gregory and head to London’s first vegan pub. Plus: Imke Henkel on the weekend papers.

DownloadPlay

Loading...

/

15

15

Live

00:0001:00

  • The Pacific Shift