Cover art for
C

Culture / Podcast

The Monocle Arts Review

Weekly cultural nourishment with Monocle 24’s international critics in the fields of art, music, theatre, literature, film and television. Enjoy conversations with the directors, artists, authors and musicians and minds behind it all.

RSS Feed
562

Latest episode

Sight and sound:

Journalists Alice Vincent and Laura Snapes join Robert Bound to discuss the albums, films and TV shows that have piqued their interest this week. Plus, we meet renowned author Dave Eggers.

Latest episodes

EpisodeDateDescriptionDownloadPlay
56223 Feb 2018
45 min

Sight and sound: 

Journalists Alice Vincent and Laura Snapes join Robert Bound to discuss the albums, films and TV shows that have piqued their interest this week. Plus, we meet renowned author Dave Eggers.

DownloadPlay
18 Feb 2018

Sunday Brunch: ‘Another Time Another Place’: 

We head back to a London borough past and travel a mile in a migrant’s shoes. Also, Joobin Bekhrad offers an alternative view of Iran, we meet Rosabella Gregory and head to London’s first vegan pub. Plus: Imke Henkel on the weekend papers.

DownloadPlay
56116 Feb 2018
45 min

Screen and stage: 

We review the week in cinema and London’s West End and chat with Daniel Spicer, author of a new book about Turkish psychedelic music.

DownloadPlay
11 Feb 2018

Sunday Brunch: ‘Age of Terror: Art Since 9/11’: 

We look at how art has changed since events in New York back in 2001 with the Imperial War Museum. Plus: the Sapphic Suffragettes. Emmy Favilla on our changing language and how to be a natural baker.

DownloadPlay
5609 Feb 2018
42 min

Page-turners, podcasts and pop: 

Ted Hodgkinson, senior programmer for literature and spoken word at the Southbank Centre, and Fiona Sturges, critic for ‘The Guardian’, join Matt Alagiah to discuss what they’ve been reading and listening to. Plus we learn about the Italian music festival that inspired Eurovision.

DownloadPlay
4 Feb 2018

Sunday Brunch: Digital playwriting: 

We hear about a play that puts Whatsapp at its core, visit Peter Doig’s exhibition in London, hear from Daniel Hume on the art of fire-making – and go for “drunch”. Plus: Marie Billon with the weekend papers.

DownloadPlay
5592 Feb 2018
45 min

Having a ball: 

We take a trip around Europe to discover some of the best exhibitions in Barcelona, Vienna and Milan this month with Ossian Ward, head of content at the Lisson gallery, and writer and curator Francesca Gavin. Plus: we don our gladrags and head to Austria for Vienna’s ball season.

DownloadPlay
28 Jan 2018

Sunday Brunch: documenting a war: 

We find out about Peter Jackson’s new film documenting the First World War, head to London’s Tate Gallery to celebrate the pioneers of installation art and talk to John Wood about his decision to leave Microsoft to change the world. Plus we try vegan junk food and Rachel Cunliffe on the weekend papers.

DownloadPlay
55826 Jan 2018
45 min

Oscars fever: 

With the nominees for the 90th Academy Awards announced this week, Ben Rylan and film critics Anna Smith and Tim Robey discuss their hopes for this year’s prizes. Plus: we find out how to show your film at Sundance without being officially selected and discover a brand new Vincent Van Gogh drawing in the Netherlands.

DownloadPlay
21 Jan 2018

Sunday Brunch: Exploring a classic: 

We delve into the history of Winnie-the-Pooh, check out Rose Wylie’s artwork at the Serpentine Sackler Gallery and Deborah Treisman talks about “the most gifted museum man on the West Coast”. We also meet chef Francesco Mazzei and Juliette Foster goes through the weekend papers.

DownloadPlay
55719 Jan 2018
42 min

Read all about it: 

We discuss some of the week’s book releases with literary journalist Sarah Shaffi and Unbound founder John Mitchinson, and nip to São Paulo to discover the kiosk-cum-independent bookshop that has transformed its neighbourhood.

DownloadPlay
14 Jan 2018
57 min

Sunday Brunch: ‘City Now City Future’: 

We take a look at a new exhibition at the Museum of London. Plus we stay in the British capital with a focus on Lumiere London. We’ve also got Oliver Jeffers talking about the journey of a father, a crash course in silent films with Monocle 24’s Christy Evans and Marie Billon on the weekend papers.

DownloadPlay
55612 Jan 2018
45 min

Three billboards, two albums and a number one: 

Robert Bound talks film and music with film critic Karen Krizanovich and broadcaster Baylen Leonard. Plus: we discuss the merits of a short story and head to Kenya for the global countdown.

DownloadPlay
7 Jan 2018
53 min

Sunday Brunch: How to eat your Christmas tree: 

Learn how you can enjoy your Christmas tree beyond the festive period. Rebecca Abrams tells the history of the Jewish people, we meet a songwriter to the stars and find out how perceptions around seafood are changing. Plus: Juliette Foster goes through the weekend papers.

DownloadPlay
5555 Jan 2018
42 min

New year, new TV: 

Alice Vincent, arts and entertainment writer for ‘The Telegraph’ and Toby Earle, TV critic for ‘London Live’ and ‘The Evening Standard’, join Ben Rylan in the studio to discuss some of the UK shows hitting the small screen this month. Plus: podcast and radio critic Pete Naughton gives us his 2018 listening tips and we head to Latin America for this week’s Global Countdown.

DownloadPlay

Loading...

/

15

15

Live

00:0001:00

  • The Atlantic Shift