Cover art for
C

Culture / Podcast

The Monocle Arts Review

Weekly cultural nourishment with Monocle 24’s international critics in the fields of art, music, theatre, literature, film and television. Enjoy conversations with the directors, artists, authors and musicians and minds behind it all.

RSS Feed
514

Latest episode

Matt Wolf, Lucy Jones and a Van Gogh art heist:

Theatre critic Matt Wolf and writer Lucy Jones join Matt Alagiah in the studio to review this week’s West End and TV shows, we head to Amsterdam to learn about a recently solved art heist and we speak to one of the creative minds behind the London-based art, music and technology festival Convergence.

Latest episodes

EpisodeDateDescriptionDownloadPlay
51424 Mar 2017
45 min

Matt Wolf, Lucy Jones and a Van Gogh art heist: 

Theatre critic Matt Wolf and writer Lucy Jones join Matt Alagiah in the studio to review this week’s West End and TV shows, we head to Amsterdam to learn about a recently solved art heist and we speak to one of the creative minds behind the London-based art, music and technology festival Convergence.

DownloadPlay
51317 Mar 2017
45 min

Tim Robey, Pete Naughton, Jane Morris and SXSW: 

We get this week’s film, podcast and art picks from critics Tim Robey, Pete Naughton and Jane Morris, and we head to Austin, Texas, to find out the music acts to watch at this year’s SXSW showcase.

DownloadPlay
51210 Mar 2017
45 min

Books, John Doyle and 100 years of British advertising: 

This week we review March’s book releases with John Mitchinson, co-founder of Unbound, and Anne Meadows, commissioning editor at Granta and Portobello. Plus: we preview this month’s must-see TV with John Doyle of Toronto’s ‘Globe and Mail’ and head to east London for an exhibition of British advertising over the past century.

DownloadPlay
5113 Mar 2017
45 min

Jason Solomons, Alice Vincent and Rio Carnival: 

Robert Bound is joined by film critic Jason Solomons and Alice Vincent, arts and entertainment writer for ‘The Telegraph’, to talk Oscars and this week’s film and album releases. Plus: we take a trip to Rio to find out what it takes to get into the samba parade during Carnival.

DownloadPlay
51024 Feb 2017
19 min

Film: Tim Robey: 

The 'Telegraph' film critic gives us his Oscar predictions, as well as reviewing 'A Cure for Wellness' and 'Certain Women'.

DownloadPlay
50923 Feb 2017
18 min

Books: Sharmaine Lovegrove : 

Reviews of the latest releases by Howard Cunnell, Jaqueline Woodson and Mohsin Hamid.

DownloadPlay
50822 Feb 2017
15 min

TV: Ben Rylan : 

Reviews of ‘Supergirl’, Australian show ‘Please Like Me’ and ‘The Golden Girls’ (now that it’s streaming on Hulu).

DownloadPlay
50721 Feb 2017
15 min

Music: Baylen Leonard : 

A review of the latest country releases by Nikki Lane, Little Bandit and Whitney Rose.

DownloadPlay
50620 Feb 2017
15 min

Art: Ossian Ward: 

Ossian Ward reviews two UK pop-artist blockbusters: David Hockney at the Tate Britain and Eduardo Paolozzi at the Whitechapel Gallery.

DownloadPlay
50517 Feb 2017
15 min

Film: Jason Solomons: 

Jason Solomons reviews ‘Moonlight’, ‘Hidden Figures’ and ‘The Founder’.

DownloadPlay
50416 Feb 2017
17 min

Books: John Mitchinson: 

John Mitchinson reviews the latest book releases by Clover Stroud, Viet Thanh Nguyen and Jacob Polley.

DownloadPlay
50315 Feb 2017
15 min

Theatre: Dominic Maxwell: 

Dominic Maxwell reviews the latest from London’s theatres, including ‘The Glass Menagerie’, ‘The Pitchfork Disney’ and ‘Beware of Pity’.

DownloadPlay
50214 Feb 2017
15 min

Music: Laura Snapes: 

Laura Snapes reviews the latest releases by US electropop band Muna, Swedish musician Jens Lekman and the experimental Mega Bog.

DownloadPlay
50113 Feb 2017
15 min

Art: Francesca Gavin: 

Francesca Gavin reviews ‘Myths of the Marble’ in Oslo, Wolfgang Tillmans in London and Omer Fast in Berlin.

DownloadPlay
50010 Feb 2017
14 min

Film: Karen Krizanovich: 

This week we review ‘Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk’ and ‘20th Century Women’, and preview the Berlin Film Festival.

DownloadPlay
Show more

0:00:000:01:00

Drag me