Cover art for
C

Culture / Podcast

The Monocle Arts Review

Weekly cultural nourishment with Monocle 24’s international critics in the fields of art, music, theatre, literature, film and television. Enjoy conversations with the directors, artists, authors and musicians and minds behind it all.

RSS Feed
527

Latest episode

June’s best books, Athens as an art destination and the RA’s freshest talent:

Matt Alagiah is joined in the studio by author Cathy Rentzenbrink and Sarah Shaffi, online editor for ‘The Bookseller’, to review some of the best book releases from the past month. We head to Athens to see whether the latest influx of fairs and exhibitions has put the Greek capital on the art map and we nip over to the Royal Academy of Art for this year’s student show.

Latest episodes

EpisodeDateDescriptionDownloadPlay
52723 Jun 2017
45 min

June’s best books, Athens as an art destination and the RA’s freshest talent: 

Matt Alagiah is joined in the studio by author Cathy Rentzenbrink and Sarah Shaffi, online editor for ‘The Bookseller’, to review some of the best book releases from the past month. We head to Athens to see whether the latest influx of fairs and exhibitions has put the Greek capital on the art map and we nip over to the Royal Academy of Art for this year’s student show.

DownloadPlay
52616 Jun 2017
45 min

Tuneful June: 

From the latest album releases to new music docs via all-singing all-dancing Broadway for the Tony awards and the Brazilian charts, we get musical on this week’s Monocle Arts Review. Robert Bound is joined by chief rock and pop critic for ‘The Times’, Will Hodgkinson, and film critic Jason Solomons in the studio and we also chat to country music superstar, Steve Earle.

DownloadPlay
5259 Jun 2017
45 min

Top TV picks for June: 

Ben Rylan is joined in the studio by writer Lucy Jones and TV editor at London Live Toby Earle to discuss their highlights on Netflix and Amazon Prime this month. Plus we nip over to São Paulo for some Japanese culture and find out what’s at number one in Belgium in this week’s global countdown.

DownloadPlay
5242 Jun 2017
44 min

Cannes Film Festival 2017: 

Tom Edwards is joined in the studio by film critics Anna Smith and Tim Robey to wrap up this year’s Cannes Film Festival. Elsewhere on the show we find out about a new book, ‘The Poetry of Pop’, and chat to Turkish musicians Baba Zula about making music in an uneasy political climate.

DownloadPlay
52326 May 2017
44 min

Art: in bottles, on bumper cars and bringing midcentury New York to life: 

Matt Alagiah is joined in the studio by Matt Wolf, theatre critic for the ‘The New York Times International Edition’, and Nancy Durrant, commissioning editor for ‘The Times Arts’, to discuss the week in London theatre and art. Plus: we take a dodgem ride around an arts festival by the Thames and we take a whiff of some olfactory art.

DownloadPlay
52219 May 2017
45 min

Podcasts, photographs and independent filmmaking: 

We review the latest book and podcast releases with publisher John Mitchinson and writer Pete Naughton. Plus: art adviser Kathlene Fox-Davies gives us her take on Photo London, we meet a film producer to find out just how difficult it is to get your film on the big screen and we listen to Portugal’s top-five music chart.

DownloadPlay
52112 May 2017
49 min

Eurovision: 

Ben Rylan is joined in the studio by Eurovision experts Chris West and Frances Robinson to discuss this year’s extravaganza in Kiev. Plus: our Eurovision correspondent Fernando Augusto Pacheco is on the ground to take us behind the scenes of this year’s show and we find out what it is like to present the big finale with Australian TV and radio personality Myf Warhurst.

DownloadPlay
5205 May 2017
45 min

Film round-up, Venice Biennale and Damien Hirst: 

Film critic Jason Solomons rounds up what's on at the cinema this week, while art critic Jane Morris fills us in on the highlights of the Venice Biennale and Damien Hirst's gargantuan new exhibition. Plus: the Photo London art fair, political cartoonist Willem and what's at number one in the Norwegian music charts.

DownloadPlay
51928 Apr 2017
46 min

Top TV, Italian publishing and the 'global novel': 

Robert Bound, Alice Vincent, arts and entertainment writer for ‘The Telegraph’, and DJ and broadcaster Georgie Rogers round up some of the week’s TV and music releases. Plus: we discover the Italian publishers to know, discuss the “global novel” with poet and critic Adam Kirsch and learn about what classical music means in 2017 with German composer Sven Helbig.

DownloadPlay
51821 Apr 2017
45 min

Broadway, books and Brazilian art: 

With the Tony nominations on the horizon, we dial up theatre critic Matt Wolf in New York to see who’s doing well on Broadway. Plus: we talk April novels with ‘Elle’ magazine’s literary critic Sharmaine Lovegrove, take a look at some Brazilian art and cast an eye over photography in Paris.

DownloadPlay
51714 Apr 2017
46 min

April’s films, ‘S-Town’ and China’s music chart: 

Ben Rylan chats to film critics Karen Krizanovich and Tim Robey about this month’s cinema releases, we get to grips with the latest podcast sensation ‘S-Town’ and we take the temperature of Canada’s music scene. Plus: we discover the must-see theatre production in London this week and the number-one single in the Chinese charts.

DownloadPlay
5167 Apr 2017
46 min

Book review, Antarctic Biennale and MipTV: 

Tom Edwards is joined in the studio by writers Cathy Rentzenbrink and Mark Mason to discuss this month’s fiction and non-fiction releases, we find out how you put on a biennale in the Antarctic and get a round-up from MipTV with ‘Broadcast’ magazine’s Peter White. Plus: the Toronto Storytelling Festival.

DownloadPlay
51531 Mar 2017
44 min

Robert Bound and guests on the week ahead: 

Robert Bound is joined by Will Hodgkinson, chief rock and pop critic for ‘The Times’, and Kathelene Fox-Davies, art dealer and advisor, to discuss the week in music and art. Plus we talk Korean art with Bartomeu Mari, director of the National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art in Seoul, and discover our new favourite radio station in Amsterdam.

DownloadPlay
51424 Mar 2017
45 min

Matt Wolf, Lucy Jones and a Van Gogh art heist: 

Theatre critic Matt Wolf and writer Lucy Jones join Matt Alagiah in the studio to review this week’s West End and TV shows, we head to Amsterdam to learn about a recently solved art heist and we speak to one of the creative minds behind the London-based art, music and technology festival Convergence.

DownloadPlay
51317 Mar 2017
45 min

Tim Robey, Pete Naughton, Jane Morris and SXSW: 

We get this week’s film, podcast and art picks from critics Tim Robey, Pete Naughton and Jane Morris, and we head to Austin, Texas, to find out the music acts to watch at this year’s SXSW showcase.

DownloadPlay
Show more

0:00:000:01:00

Drag me